My Cart
Close

How can CBD help against epilepsy

About 4% of people develop epilepsy during their lifetime, making it the fourth most common neurological disorder on the planet. Epilepsy is a central nervous system’s spectrum disorder characterized by seizures or periods of unusual behavior, sensations and sometimes also a loss of awareness. Treatment of epilepsy typically focuses on seizure medications control. Seizures that are often symptomatic of epilepsy is thought to be caused by abnormal brain activity, similar to a kind of electrical storm in which neurons begin firing in an abnormal, excessive and synchronized way. There are different types of seizures and forms of epilepsies impacting both children and adults. 

Common symptoms of Epilepsy include


  • Temporary confusion

  • A staring spell

  • Uncontrollable jerking movements of the arms and legs

  • Loss of consciousness or awareness

  • Psychic symptoms such as fear, anxiety or Deja-vu

How CBD works for epilepsy?

Scientists aren’t exactly sure how CBD helps to reduce seizures, although they think CBD exerts a complex and cumulative effect on a number of physiological systems, modulating the brain’s overall neural activity and excitability.Scientists hypothesize that the anti-convulsant effects of CBD are potentially due to: 

1) Its ability to inhibit neural activity


CBD is thought to inhibit neuronal activity via GABA receptors, an ionotropic receptor responsible for brain activity and excitability.

2) Its ability to modulate intracellular calcium


CBD also seems to reduce seizure activity by modulating intracellular calcium and reducing neuronal excitability and neuronal transmission. Scientist hypothesize that CBD does this through interactions with targets such as TRP channels, G‐coupled protein receptor protein 55 (GPR55), and/or voltage‐dependent anion‐selective channel protein 1 (VDAC1). 

Recommended CBD product types and dosage for epilepsy

CBD PRODUCT TYPES


It's important to use high-quality CBD products and do so regularly for people with epilepsy. There are a few options available:

  • Epidiolex


    EPIDIOLEX® is a CBD-based drug indicated for the treatment of seizures associated with Lennox-Gastaut Syndrome (LGS) and Dravet Syndrome (DS). Epidiolex is the first FDA-approved prescription cannabidiol (CBD) product and was developed by GW Pharmaceuticals, a healthcare company based in the UK. Epidiolex is only available with a prescription of your doctor and in pharmacies.

  • Sublingual Treatments & Ingestibles


    For daily prevention and maintenance, we recommend using a full-spectrum or broad-spectrum CBD oil, a CBD tincture or gel cap. This will allow for a slow onset of action that lasts throughout the day.

  • Vaping & Smoking


    For acute flare-up of symptoms, vaping CBD or smoking CBD rich flowers can provide almost immediate relief due to its fast onset of action.  

CBD DOSAGE


The use of CBD for epilepsy is very personal and dependent on the type and severity of symptoms. Scientists found effective results for seizure control at 20 and 30 mg of CBD per body weight (in kg) per day. This is considered a very high-dose and therefore it will translate into high costs if you intend to use over-the-counter CBD oil or CBD products for epilepsy.

To help you figure out the right dose for you, head over to our page CBD usage and dosage.

Recommended CBD products


Hemp Oil Drops - 1500mg CBD (15%)
SFr. 159.00

DISCLAIMER: These statements have not been evaluated by the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) or Swissmedic. The information provided here is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Always consult with a doctor / physician if you have any medical condition or use any prescription medications. Medical advice should always be sought before starting any new treatment, including the intake of CBD products.

LEARN MORE ABOUT HOW CBD CAN HELP YOU

CBD for Cancer - uWeed
CBD against arthritis and arthrosis - uWeed
CBD and cardiovascular diseases - uWeed
CBD against chronic pain - uWeed
CBD against depression - uWeed
CBD against diabetes - uWeed
CBD against epilepsy - uWeed
CBD for multiple sclerosis - uWeed
CBD and Morbus Crohn's disease - uWeed
CBD against inflammation - uWeed
CBD against stress and anxiety - uWeed
CBD for Women's Health - Menstruations & Menopause - uWeed
CBD, Sport Performance and Recovery - uWeed
CBD against insomnia and for a better sleep - uWeed
CBD for better sex - uWeed
Your cart is currently empty. You must agree with the terms and conditions of sales to check out.

Mon Panier
Fermer

Comment le CBD peut aider les patients atteints d’'épilepsie ?

Environ 4% de la population mondiale est atteinte d'épilepsie, en faisant le quatrième trouble neurologique de la planète. L'épilepsie est un trouble du spectre central du système nerveux caractérisé par des convulsions ou des périodes de comportement inhabituel et parfois des pertes de conscience. Le traitement de l'épilepsie est généralement axé sur le contrôle des convulsions par des médicaments. Les crises symptomatiques de l'épilepsie seraient dues à une activité cérébrale extraordinaire, semblable à une sorte de tempête électrique au cours de laquelle les neurones entrent en activité de manière anormale, excessive et synchronisée. Il existe différents types de crises et de formes d'épilepsie qui affectent aussi bien les enfants que les adultes.

Les symptômes communs de l'épilepsie comprennent


  • Confusion temporaire

  • Regard fixe

  • Mouvements saccadés incontrôlables des bras et des jambes

  • Perte de conscience

  • Symptômes psychiques tels que la peur, l’anxiété ou des déjà-vu

Comment le CBD agit-il contre l'épilepsie?

Les scientifiques ne savent pas exactement comment le CBD aide à réduire les crises mais ils supposent que le CBD exerce un effet complexe et cumulatif sur un certain nombre de systèmes physiologiques en modulant l'activité neurale globale et l'excitabilité du cerveau. Les scientifiques pensent que les effets anticonvulsifs du CBD pourraient être dus à : 

1)Sa capacité à inhiber l'activité neuronale


On pense que le CBD inhibe l'activité neuronale via les récepteurs GABA, des récepteurs ionotropes responsables de l'activité et de l'excitabilité cérébrales.

2)Sa capacité à moduler le calcium intracellulaire


Le CBD semble également réduire l'activité épileptique en modulant le calcium intracellulaire et en réduisant l'excitabilité neuronale et la transmission neuronale. Les scientifiques émettent l'hypothèse que l'efficacité du cannabidiol CBD s'explique par son action sur les canaux TRP, la protéine 55 couplée au récepteur des protéines G (GPR55) et / ou la protéine 1 du canal sélectif des anions dépendant de la tension (VDAC1).

Posologie et types de produits CBD recommandés pour le traitement de l’épilepsie

TYPES DE PRODUIT CBD


Il est important de choisir des produits CBD de haute qualité et de les prendre régulièrement lorsqu'on utilise le CBD contre l'épilepsie. Plusieurs options sont disponibles :

  • Epidiolex


    EPIDIOLEX® est un médicament à base de CBD indiqué pour le traitement des convulsions associées au syndrome de Lennox-Gastaut (LGS) et au syndrome de Dravet (DS). Epidiolex est le premier produit à base de cannabidiol (CBD) sur ordonnance approuvé par la FDA. Il a été développé par GW Pharmaceuticals, une entreprise pharmaceutique basée au Royaume-Uni. Epidiolex est disponible uniquement en pharmacie sur ordonnance.

  • Traitement sublingual ou par ingestion


    pour la prévention et l'entretien quotidiens, nous recommandons d'utiliser une huile de CBDà spectre complet ou à large spectre, une teinture de CBD ou des gélules de CBD. Une telle utilisation permettra une action lente pour un effet qui durera tout au long de la journée.

  • Vapoter et fumer


    en cas de crise symptomatique aiguë, vapoter du CBD ou fumer du cannabis CBD peut procurer un soulagement presque immédiat en raison de l'action rapide de ces modes de prise.

DOSAGE CBD


L'utilisation du CBD pour les patients souffrant d’épilepsie est très personnelle et dépend du type et de la gravité des symptômes. Les scientifiques ont atteint des résultats efficaces pour le contrôle des crises avec 20 et 30 mg de CBD par poids corporel (en kg) par jour. Ceci est considéré comme une dose très élevée et, par conséquent, entraînera des coûts élevés si vous envisagez d'utiliser de l'huile de CBD en vente libre ou des produits contenant du CBD pour l'épilepsie.

Pour vous aider à déterminer le dosage qui vous convient, veuillez consulter notre page surl'utilisation et le dosage du CBD .

Produits CBD recommandés


Entire 24% Full-Spectrum CBD Oil (2400mg)
SFr. 119.00
Blossom White - Pure CBD Crystals
SFr. 89.00
Hemp Oil Drops - 1500mg CBD (15%)
SFr. 159.00

AVERTISSEMENT: Ces déclarations n'ont pas été évaluées par l’Office Fédéral de la Santé (OFS) ou Swissmedic. Les informations publiées dans ces articles ne sont pas destinées à diagnostiquer, traiter, guérir ou prévenir une maladie. Consultez un médecin si vous avez un problème de santé ou si vous utilisez des médicaments sur ordonnance. Il est indispensable de toujours prendre conseil auprès d’un médecin avant de commencer tout nouveau traitement, y compris à base de produits CBD.

EN APPRENDRE DAVANTAGE SUR LES CHAMPS D'APPLICATION DU CBD

CBD for Cancer - uWeed
CBD against arthritis and arthrosis - uWeed
CBD and cardiovascular diseases - uWeed
CBD against chronic pain - uWeed
CBD against depression - uWeed
CBD against diabetes - uWeed
CBD against epilepsy - uWeed
CBD for multiple sclerosis - uWeed
CBD and Morbus Crohn's disease - uWeed
CBD against inflammation - uWeed
CBD against stress and anxiety - uWeed
CBD for Women's Health - Menstruations & Menopause - uWeed
CBD, Sport Performance and Recovery - uWeed
CBD against insomnia and for a better sleep - uWeed
CBD for better sex - uWeed
Votre panier est actuellement vide. Vous devez accepter les termes et conditions de vente pour vérifier.