My Cart
Close

Terpenes and the entourage effect

Despite whole cannabis and hemp plant extracts typically containing a combination of over 400 different cannabinoids and terpenes, most research on the topic use either synthetic and/or single molecule cannabinoids. 


We know that many of these compounds work together synergistically to create an end result in which the individual effects and benefits of each molecule enhances the effects and benefits of the other compounds. This is what scientists are calling the “entourage effect”. 


The question then arises, what conclusions can we really draw regarding the data obtained from typical cannabinoid research that uses single molecule isolates? In other words, what impact does the entourage effect have on the efficacy of medical cannabis based medicines?

The entourage effect: cannabinoids and terpenes

Before delving into the entourage effect, let’s first take a look at the players involved in creating this synergistic effect - cannabinoids and terpenes.

Cannabinoids

The cannabinoids found in the cannabis plant each have their own set of potential benefits and therapeutic effects. The effects of each is primarily due to the way in which they interact with the endocannabinoid system (ECS) as well as how they modulate, bind to and affect the cannabinoid receptors located throughout our brain and body. 


For instance, THC’s effects mainly arise because it acts as a partial agonist for CB1 and CB2 receptors. This is the underlying cause behind many of its properties and benefits, including psychoactive analgesic, muscle relaxant, antispasmodic, neuroprotective, antioxidant, and anti-inflammatory properties. 


On the other hand, CBD has no binding affinity with either of CB1 or CB2 cannabinoid receptors. This accounts for its unusual pharmacological versatility and its ability to modulate the behavior of a variety of other, non-ECS receptors, genes and enzymes. 


Tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV), an analogue and modulator of THC, is a powerful anticonvulsant and anti-inflammatory in addition to producing weight loss, decreased body fat and serum leptin concentrations. CBD’s analogue, cannabidivarin (CBDV), is also a powerful anticonvulsant, anti-inflammatory and analgesic. And cannabigerivarin (CBGV), CBG’s analogue, is thought to have analgesic and anti-inflammatory properties. 


Cannabichromene (CBC) is an anandamide uptake inhibitor showing pronounced antidepressant effects while cannabigerol (CBG) inhibits gamma aminobutyric acid (GABA) uptake suggesting that it has muscle relaxant, analgesic and anti-erythemic effects. 


Finally, CBN, a by-product of THC deterioration, is a powerful anticonvulsant, anti-inflammatory and antiviral agent that can help promote bone formation and inhibit breast cancer growth.

Terpenes

Terpenes are volatile, odiferous and oily compounds responsible for repelling insects, prevent fungal and bacterial infections as well as attract pollinators. There are around 200 terpenes found in the cannabis plant and is what gives different cannabis strains their unique smell characteristics. 


The most notable of these is beta-caryophyllene that binds directly to the CB2 cannabinoid receptor in the same way cannabinoids do. It is considered a promising therapeutic compound for inflammatory and auto-immune conditions as well as a great help in fighting neuropathic pain. 


Below is a list of some other common terpenes found in cannabis and a summary of their positive properties:

Terpenes

Properties


Limonene


Immunostimulant, anxiolytic, anti-bacterial, anti-cancer


a-Pinene


Anti-inflammatory, bronchodilator, aids memory


b-Myrcene


Anti-inflammatory, analgesic, hypnotic, muscle relaxant, sedative


Linalool


Anxiolytic, sedative, anaesthetic, analgesic, anti-convulsant


Nerolidol


Sedative, antimalarial, antimicrobial


Terpinolene


Anti-fungal, antibacterial, antioxidant

What is the entourage effect?

The first to speak of a potential synergistic effect between THC and CBD, was cannabinoid researcher Ethan Russo in the British Journal of Pharmacology. He recognized an entourage effect between cannabinoids as well as the various terpenes found in the cannabis plant. In his review of the potential benefits of using CBD with THC, Russo makes the case that CBD has the ability to tame many of the unwanted side effects (e.g. acute intoxication, anxiety and feelings of panic) of THC by modulating its psychoactivity.


Further support for the cannabinoid-cannabinoid entourage effect is when scientists investigated the effect of full-spectrum extracts vs CBD isolates on dose-responses. They found that when a CBD isolate was given to rats for the treatment of pain, dosages needed to steadily increase in order to remain effective, eventually reaching a ceiling of effectiveness. However, when a full-spectrum CBD oil was administered, the analgesic effect remained constant, without required dosage increases or ceiling effects.

A study on the effects of medical cannabis on human breast cancer cells showed that full-spectrum extracts were more effective in reducing tumor size than THC alone. The researchers theorized that this was due to the entourage effect and the presence of small amounts of other cannabinoids, such as CBG and tetrahydrocannabinolic acid (THCA). 


Likewise, in a study investigating the anticonvulsant effects of CBD, scientists compared the effects of five types of full spectrum extracts. Each of them contained the same amount of CBD but had different cannabinoid and terpene profiles. Their results mirrored those of previously mentioned research as they found significant differences between the effectiveness of each extract with regards to seizure development. 

Similar to synergies between cannabinoids, there is also evidence of a potential synergy between cannabinoids and terpenes. Research shows that a cannabinoid-terpene entourage effect can increase blood flow, hence enhancing cortical activity and kill antibiotic-resistant pathogens like MRSA. Similarly, it also has the potential to enhance the treatment of pain, inflammation, anxiety, depression, seizure disorders, fungal and bacterial infections. It can also buffer THC’s psychoactivity in combination with CBD. 


Scientists theorize that the cause of an entourage effect lies in the ability of each cannabis plant compound to act on different parts of the body in different ways and therefore to produce varying effects. However, at the same time, they also work together to enhance the benefits of each, especially with cannabinoid-terpene interactions. This is because some terpenes can assist cannabinoids in penetrating the blood-brain barrier that influences the amount of each cannabinoid that passes through that barrier.

Final thoughts on terpenes and entourage effects

The entourage effect is very real and makes a case for research scientists to investigate cannabis compounds holistically as well as in different combinations. This is the only way to fully understand the pharmacological effects of medical cannabis on different conditions. It is also a crucial step in developing truly and consistently effective phytopharmaceutical cannabinoid medications.

Your cart is currently empty. You must agree with the terms and conditions of sales to check out.

My Cart
Close

Les terpènes et l’effet d’entourage

Bien que les extraits de cannabis et de chanvre contiennent en général un mélange de plus de 400 cannabinoïdes et terpènes différents, la plupart des études sur le sujet sont effectuées sur des molécules de cannabinoïdes isolées et/ou synthétiques.


Nous savons qu’une grande partie de ces composés œuvre en synergie, c’est-à-dire que les effets individuels de chaque molécule améliorent les effets des autres composés. C’est ce que les scientifiques appellent « l’effet d’entourage ».


Ce qui soulève la question : quelles conclusions peut-on réellement tirer des données obtenues par la recherche traditionnelle sur le cannabis, si elle s’effectue sur des molécules isolées ? En d’autres termes, quel impact l’effet d’entourage a-t-il sur l’efficacité des traitements à base de cannabis médical ?

L’effet d’entourage : les cannabinoïdes et les terpènes

Avant d’étudier l’effet d’entourage, commençons par nous pencher sur les acteurs principaux créant cet effet synergique : les cannabinoïdes et les terpènes.

Les cannabinoïdes

Les cannabinoïdes présents dans le cannabis ont chacun leurs propres bienfaits et effets thérapeutiques potentiels. Leurs effets sont dus en premier lieu à leur manière d’interagir avec le système endocannabinoïde (ECS) et à leur manière de moduler, de se lier et d’affecter les récepteurs cannabinoïdes dans notre corps et notre cerveau.


Par exemple, les effets du THC apparaissent principalement parce qu’il agit comme un agoniste partiel pour les récepteurs CB1 et CB2. C’est la cause sous-jacente de la plupart de ses effets, dont ses propriétés psychoactives, analgésiques, myorelaxantes, antispasmodiques, neuroprotectrices, antioxydantes et anti-inflammatoires.


Quant au CBD , il ne possède pas d’affinité de liaison avec les récepteurs cannabinoïdes CB1 et CB2. C’est pour cela qu’il présente une telle versatilité pharmacologique et qu’il peut moduler le comportement de nombreux autres gènes et enzymes, des récepteurs n’appartenant pas à l’ECS.


La tétrahydrocannabivarine (THCV), un équivalent et modulateur du THC, est un puissant anti-épileptique et anti-inflammatoire qui induit aussi une perte de poids, une perte de la masse graisseuse et une baisse de la concentration sérique de la leptine. L’équivalent du CBD, la cannabidivarine (CBDV), est également un puissant antiépileptique, anti-inflammatoire et analgésique. Et la cannabigérivarine (CBGV), l’équivalent du CBG, aurait également des propriétés analgésiques et anti-inflammatoires.


Le cannabichromène (CBC) est un inhibiteur du recaptage de l’anandamide présentant de puissants effets antidépresseurs, et le cannabigérol (CBG) inhibe le recaptage de l’acide γ-aminobutyrique (GABA), ce qui suggère qu’il possède des effets myorelaxants et analgésiques, et permet d’éviter les érythèmes.


Enfin, le CBN, un produit dérivé de la détérioration du THC, est un puissant agent antiépileptique, anti-inflammatoire et antiviral qui peut aider à la formation osseuse et freiner la croissance du cancer du sein.

Les terpènes

Les terpènes sont des composés volatiles, odoriférants et huileux qui servent à éloigner les insectes, à éviter les infections fongiques et bactériennes et à attirer les pollinisateurs. Environ 200 terpènes sont présents dans le cannabis ; c’est ce qui donne à chaque variété de cannabis une odeur unique.


Le plus notable d’entre eux est le caryophyllène, qui se lie directement au récepteur cannabinoïde CB2 comme le font les cannabinoïdes. Ce composé est considéré comme une potentielle thérapie prometteuse pour les conditions inflammatoires et auto-immunes et pourrait s’avérer très utile pour lutter contre les douleurs neuropathiques.


Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des principaux terpènes présents dans le cannabis et un résumé de leurs propriétés :

Les terpènes

Propriétés


Limonène


Immunostimulant, anxiolytique, antibactérien, anticancérigène


a-pinène


Anti-inflammatoire, bronchodilatateur, stimule la mémoire


Myrcène


Anti-inflammatoire, analgésique, hypnotique, myorelaxant, sédatif


Linalol


Anxiolytique, sédatif, anesthésiant, analgésique, antiépileptique


Nérolidol


Sédatif, antipaludique, antimicrobien


Terpinène


Antifongique, antibactérien, antioxydant

Qu’est-ce que l’effet d’entourage ?

Le scientifique Ethan Russo a été le premier à mentionner un potentiel effet de synergie entre le THC et le CBDau cours de ses recherches sur les cannabinoïdes dans le British Journal of Pharmacology. Il a constaté un effet d’entourage entre les cannabinoïdes et les nombreux terpènes présents dans le cannabis. Dans le cadre d’une étude portant sur l’intérêt potentiel à associer le CBD et le THC, Russo a démontré que le CBD a la capacité de contrer une grande partie des effets secondaires indésirables (ex : intoxication aiguë, anxiété et sentiment de panique) du THC en modulant sa psychoactivité.


Contribuant à alimenter la théorie de l’effet d’entourage entre cannabinoïdes, les scientifiques ont également étudié les effets des extraits à spectre complet par rapport aux isolats de CBD dans la relation dose-effet. Ils ont découvert que lorsqu’un isolat de CBD était administré à des rats pour traiter la douleur, les doses devaient être régulièrement augmentées pour rester efficaces, et que son efficacité avait une limite. Toutefois, lorsqu’une huile de CBD à spectre complet était administrée, l’effet analgésique restait constant sans avoir besoin d’augmenter les doses ou d’effectuer des plafonnages.

Une étude sur les effets du cannabis médical sur les cellules cancéreuses dans le sein humain a démontré que les extraits à spectre complet réduisaient plus efficacement la taille des tumeurs que le THC seul. Les chercheurs supposent que c’est dû à l’effet d’entourage et à la présence de petites quantités d’autres cannabinoïdes, comme le CBG et l’acide tétrahydrocannabinolique (THCA).


De même, au cours d’une étude qui se penchait sur les effets anticonvulsifs du CBD, les scientifiques ont comparé les effets de cinq types d’extraits à spectre complet. Chaque extrait contenait la même concentration en CBD mais possédait différents profils de cannabinoïdes et de terpènes. Leurs résultats ont fait écho à ceux des recherches mentionnées ci-dessus, car ils ont observé d’importantes variations d’efficacité sur le développement des convulsions entre chaque extrait.

En plus des synergies entre les cannabinoïdes, on trouve également des preuves d’une potentielle synergie entre les cannabinoïdes et les terpènes. Les études illustrent qu’un effet d’entourage entre cannabinoïdes et terpènes peut augmenter la circulation sanguine, et ainsi améliorer l’activité corticale et détruire les agents pathogènes résistants aux antibiotiques comme le SDMR (staphylocoque doré). Cet effet aurait également le potentiel d’améliorer les traitements contre la douleur, les inflammations, l’anxiété, la dépression, les troubles épileptiques et les infections fongiques et bactériennes. Il peut aussi réduire la psychoactivité du THC lorsqu’il est associé à du CBD.


Les scientifiques émettent la théorie que l’effet d’entourage pourrait permettre à chaque variété de cannabis d’agir de différentes manières sur différentes parties du corps, et donc de produire différents effets. Cependant, les différents composés collaborent aussi pour améliorer les effets positifs de chacun, surtout grâce aux interactions entre cannabinoïdes et terpènes. C’est parce que certains terpènes peuvent aider les cannabinoïdes à pénétrer la barrière hémato-encéphalique, ce qui influence le volume de chaque cannabinoïde pénétrant cette barrière.

Réflexions finales sur les terpènes et les effets d’entourage

L’effet d’entourage est bien réel et explique pourquoi les scientifiques étudient les composés du cannabis globalement ainsi que dans différentes associations. C’est le seul moyen pour comprendre réellement les effets pharmacologiques du cannabis médical sur différentes conditions. Il s’agit également d’une étape cruciale pour continuer à développer des traitements phytopharmaceutiques efficaces à base de cannabinoïdes.

Your cart is currently empty. Vous devez accepter les termes et conditions de vente pour vérifier.